Please enable javascript in your browser to view this site!


The 2017 New Zealand Jazz Awards are heading to the capital, in a new partnership with the Wellington Jazz Festival, 7-11 June.

Presented by music industry representatives APRA AMCOS New Zealand and Recorded Music New Zealand, the annual awards recognise exceptional talent within Aotearoa’s busy jazz scene. Past winners include Nathan Haines and Rodger Fox’s Wellington Jazz Orchestra.

“The Wellington Jazz Festival is the very epicentre of New Zealand’s vibrant jazz music scene,” explains Anthony Healey, Head of New Zealand Operations for APRA AMCOS. “We’re excited that this year’s Awards will recognise New Zealand’s best jazz musicians amongst the world-class line up of artists and performers that make the Wellington Jazz Festival such a wonderful experience.”

Damian Vaughan, CEO of Recorded Music New Zealand agrees “With the enthusiastic support of Aotearoa’s jazz community, we’re very pleased to be able to bring the New Zealand Jazz Awards to Wellington and celebrate with our talented jazz composers and artists in 2017.”

The annual Wellington Jazz Festival has a growing reputation as New Zealand’s leading contemporary jazz festival, heating up the capital with a mid-winter culture hit. In 2016 more than 25,000 people attended 140 free and paid events, including sold-out international headliners Wayne Shorter Quartet and Snarky Puppy.

Shelagh Magadza, artistic director of the Wellington Jazz Festival says “We feel hugely privileged that the Wellington Jazz Festival enjoys such strong support from the local jazz community. So we are rapt to be in a position to return the favour by joining forces with the New Zealand Jazz Awards in 2017.”

Entries for both the APRA Best Jazz Composition award and Recorded Music New Zealand Best Jazz Album award are now open, and close on Monday 13 February 2017.

The 2017 Wellington Jazz Festival line-up will be announced from 9 March 2017 at