Please enable javascript in your browser to view this site!

E Tū Whānau Song Competition winners announced

The winners of the fourth annual E Tū Whānau Song Competition have now been confirmed.

“It’s such a privilege to have been part of this initiative,” says Betty-Anne Monga, one of the judges. “The songwriting was exceptional, with entries in the rangatahi category showing real depth and honesty.”

Entrants were asked to write an original song inspiring positive change, and incorporating one or more of E Tū Whānau’s values, ie:  Aroha, Whanaungatanga, Whakapapa, Mana/Manaaki, Kōrero Awhi, and Tikanga.

The competition had a great response and there was an increase in the number of entries submitted (79% in English; 16% in Māori; 5% Bilingual) compared with last year. 139 songs were approved for entry from the 148 entries received from individuals and groups throughout Aotearoa aged 3 years old to 73 years young!

Competition judges Maisey Rika, Pere Wihongi, Betty-Anne Monga and Maaka Phat had the mammoth task of independently selecting just six winners, ie: three for the Open Entry category (any age) and three for the new Rangatahi category (aged 16 years and under).

Maisey Rika says it is no easy feat putting yourself out there to everyone.  “I commend every entry and every kaiwaiata/kaitito. It makes my mahi so worthwhile to see others with that fire to express and create … I take my hat off to all of them, ka pai ā rātou mahi!”

The E Tū Whānau Song Competition is run by Māori Media Network in conjunction with the network of Māori Radio Stations throughout New Zealand.

All entries can still be viewed in the competition gallery on E Tū Whānau’s Facebook page. 


‘Love Yourself’ by Crete Riiwhi-Tupe (Ngāpuhi) of Whirinaki


‘Conquer’ by Lucian McDermot (Ngāti Raukawa) of Taupō.